UK-Norway post-punk stalwarts PERMAFROST release eponymous EP

Norwegian-UK outfit Permafrost has released their sophomore ‘Permafrost’ EP digitally for the first time, including a previously unreleased mix. This four-track offering is available on all platforms as of October 15th, released on their own Fear of Music label with distribution by Secretly Noord.

Two years since its vinyl-only release, they now bring you the digital release of the ‘Permafrost’ EP, including the never-before-released Japanese Mix of ‘Sugarcubes’, featuring backing vocals by Tsugumi Takashi and Yoko Sawai.

Recorded at The Overlook, Braund Studios in Brooklyn and produced by Permafrost, this EP was mixed by Erik Braund(Mac DeMarco, A Place To Bury Strangers, Beach Fossils) and Shane O’Connel, and mastered by Paul Corkett (The Cure, Placebo, Sleeper, Strangelove).

Permafrost was formed in 1982 in Molde, Norway by school friends Frode Heggdal Larsen and Kåre Steinsbu during the first post punk era. Robert Heggdal and Trond Tornes joined in 2001, the group finally rounded out with the addition of London-based keyboardist Daryl Bamonte in 2016. They take their name from a song by Magazine with other notable influences being Joy Division, The Cure, Talking Heads, Pere Ubu, Yello, Fad Gadget, The Residents, Wire and Wolfgang Press.

Debuting with the ‘Godtment’ EP in 1983, released as a limited edition of 50 numbered cassettes, Permafrost issued their sophomore offering – the ‘Permafrost’ EP, a vinyl-only release, to high praise in 2019.

2021 brought a trio of critically acclaimed singles via Fear of Music label – ‘Femme Fatale’‘Closed Eyes’ and ‘Restore Us’, the latest offering from September featuring remixes by MAPS (a.k.a. UK producer James Chapman) and Paul Corkett. All three singles reached #1 on the Indie Disko Top40 Chart and Top 5 on the Deutsche Alternative Chart, the latter also reaching #1 on the Native25 Chart, in addition to significant press and radio play on six continents.

The ‘Permafrost’ EP is out now everywhere online, including Spotify,Apple Music and Amazon. It can also be ordered directly from the band via [http://Bandcamp https://permafrost3.bandcamp.com/album/permafrost-ep%5DBandcamp. A limited number of copies are also still available on 12″ vinyl while they last.

1. Sugarcubes
2. Kingdom
3. Lifetime Commitment
4. Sugarcubes – Japanese Mix

Lyrics and Music by Permafrost
Produced by Permafrost
Recorded at The Overlook, Braund Studios (Brooklyn, NY)
Mixed by Erik Braund and Shane O’Connel
Engineered by David Plakon, Erik Braund and Shane O’Connel
Backing vocals by Tsugumi Takashi and Yoko Sawai
Mastered by Paul Corkett
Artwork by Per Olav Bergem
‘Kingdom’ video by Per Olav Bergem

To find out more about Permafrost, check following links:







Apple Music

To find out more about Shameless Promotion PR, check out following links:

Official Website








Published by andymeeus

I have always been a passionate storyteller and the influence of stories on people and their decisions impresses me. I like to immerse myself in the projects I work on and I fully focus on the research and the creation of the stories that I think are worth writing. I am a curious and enterprising Writer who likes to delve into the news from the music world. Putting that news into a compelling story is what I love to do and will bring to you today. I am currently found on Gigview, where I write the Album reviews from the heavy metal genres. Follow the link to my space on their site to get information about us. Link: https://www.gigview.be/andy-meeus. I am also writing for Musosoup. To go my page there, click following link: https://app.musosoup.com/submit/AndysMusicCorner

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: